The World Mayor Project was conceived in 2004 to raise the profile of mayors worldwide and honour those who have served their communities well. They have carried out their duties for the benefit of all citizens, irrespective of race, gender, religion, politics or legal status

About World Mayor
City Mayors

• Preview 2018
• Code of Ethics
• World Mayor Prize
• World Mayor History

• Results 2016
• Project 2016

• Shortlist 2016
• Longlist 2016
• Raison d'être

• Mayor of Athens
• Mayor of Lahr
• Mayor of Mechelen

• Mayor of Aleppo
• Mayor of Amstelveen
• Mayor of Athens
• Mayor of Cologne
• Mayor of Gdansk
• Mayor of Grande-Synthe
• Mayor of Hettstedt
• Mayor of Lahr
• Mayor of Lampedusa
• Mayor of Lesbos
• Mayor of Mechelen
• Mayor of Philadelphia
• Mayor of Schwäbisch Gmünd

• Mayor of Aleppo
• Mayor of Amstelveen
• Mayor of Athens
• Mayor of Gdansk
• Mayor of Lahr
• Mayor of Mechelen
• Mayor of Schwäbisch Gmünd

• Mayor of Amstelveen
• Mayor of Athens
• Mayor of Cologne
• Mayor of Gdansk
• Mayor of Grande-Synthe
• Mayor of Lahr
• Mayor of Lampedusa
• Mayor of Lesbos
• Mayor of Mechelen
• Mayor of Schwäbisch Gmünd








World Mayor

2018 World Mayor Project
dedicated to women mayors

The 2018 World Mayor Project will be dedicated to women in local government. It will feature the achievements of women mayors from across the world and honour the best of them. The all-women long- and shortlists will include mayors from towns and cities of all sizes who serve with integrity, determination and imagination. The 2018 World Mayor Prize and Commendations will be conferred on women who have made outstanding and long-lasting contributions to their communities.

Women fought prejudice and struggled for equal rights and opportunities for hundreds of years. They did it with courage and resolve. In the 20th and early 21st centuries, women have achieved success in many spheres previously reserved to or monopolised by men, but their contributions are still often undervalued and their potential not recognised enough. In local government, particularly in politics, women are under-represented. While a number of prominent cities, like Tokyo, Madrid, Washington, Rome and Sydney, have elected female mayors, only some twenty per cent of the world’s mayors are women. MORE

Bart Somers, Mayor of Mechelen, Belgium
awarded the 2016 World Mayor Prize

World Mayor Commendations for the Mayors of
Lahr (Germany) and Athens (Greece)

Bart Somers, the Mayor of Mechelen, Belgium, has been awarded the 2016 World Mayor Prize. World Mayor Commendations are being conferred to Wolfgang G Müller, Mayor of Lahr, Germany and Georgios Kaminis, Mayor of Athens, Greece.

The 2016 World Mayor Project honours mayors and their communities that have welcomed refugees and offered them safety, shelter and support. Many of the mayors included in the top-ten honours list have developed and invested in longterm strategies as well as day-to-day measures to successfully integrate newcomers from different countries and cultures. They have also addressed local residents’ fears of and reservations about the arrival of people who speak foreign languages, observe their own customs and practise different religions. MORE

The 2016 World Mayor Honours List
Bart Somers Mayor of Mechelen Belgium
Wolfgang G Müller Mayor of Lahr Germany
Georgios Kaminis Mayor of Athens Greece
Giusi Nicolini Mayor of Lampedusa Italy
Richard Arnold Mayor of Schwäbisch Gmünd Germany
Mirjam van 't Veld Mayor of Amstelveen Netherlands
Spiros Galinos Mayor of Lesbos Greece
Pavel Adamowicz Mayor of Gdansk Poland
Damien Carême Mayor of Grande-Synthe France
Henriette Reker Mayor of Cologne Germany

Mayors of Mechelen, Lahr and Athens
presented with World Mayor honours

Following the announcement of the 2016 World Mayor Honours list on 14 February, the Mayors of Mechelen (Bart Somers), Lahr (Wolfgang G Müller) and Athens (Georgios Kaminis) were presented with the World Mayor Prize and Commendations.

World Mayor 2016 honours mayors
for services to integration and refugees

In the preamble to the 2016 World Mayor Project, the organisers state that at a time when there are some 60 million displaced people worldwide and hundreds of thousands flee disaster-torn areas and poverty, it ultimately falls on towns and cities to provide emergency shelter, security and future prospects.

For World Mayor 2016, the City Mayors Foundation looked for mayors who recognised that people, whatever their origin, status or background, are the greatest capital the world has to offer. The 2016 World Mayor Project has identified mayors whose cities have done the most to welcome immigrants and have used their skills to enrich and diversify society culturally, economically and socially.

All mayors on the 2016 shortlist and particularly the final top ten have shown compassion, courage and competence. Compassion for people who have travelled great distances to find safety. Courage to fight prejudice even in the face of unpopularity. Competence to leverage the value and potential each person offers society. MORE

The 2016 Shortlist
The shortlist for the 2016 World Mayor Prize, which was released on 20 October, included 15 mayors who, together with their communities, have made exceptional efforts to welcome refugees and integrate migrants. MORE

The 2016 Longlist
The longlist for the 2016 World Mayor Prize included 38 mayors from 19 countries. MORE

Code of Ethics
for city leaders

The City Mayors Foundation and the World Mayor Project were established in 2003 to promote, encourage and facilitate good local government. To strengthen local government further, a Code of Ethics for city leaders, who wish to perform their duties beyond all reproach, has been devised. MORE

World Mayor Prize sculpture
shows courage and conviction

City Mayors commissioned French artist Manuel Ferrari to design a sculpture that was as unique as the city of the winning mayor. City Mayors' senior editor, Tann vom Hove, said: “We asked Manuel Ferrari to produce a design that shows what an inspirational mayor can achieve if he builds on strong foundations.” MORE

Winners of the World Mayor Prize since 2004: Edi Rama, Tirana; Dora Bakoyannis, Athens; John So, Melbourne; Helen Zille, Cape Town; Marcelo Ebrard, Mexico City; Iñaki Azkuna, Bilbao; Naheed Nenshi, Calgary; Bart Somers, Mechelen

Bart Somers, Mayor of Mechelen, Belgium

Wolfgang G Müller, Mayor of Lahr, Germany

Georgios Kaminis, Mayor of Athens, Greece

Guisi Nicolini, Mayor of Lampedusa, Italy

Richard Arnold, Mayor of Schwäbisch Gmünd, Germany

Mirjam van 't Veld, Mayor of Amstelveen, Netherlands

Spiros Galinos, Mayor of Lesboc, Greece

Pawel Adamowicz, Mayor of Gdansk, Poland

Damien Carême, Mayor of Grande-Synthe, France

Henriette Reker, Mayor of Cologne, Germany