Joko Widodo, World Mayor finalist in 2012 and now President of Indonesia

About World Mayor


• World Mayor winners from 2004 to 2014
• The 2014 shortlist
• The 2014 longlist
• Code of Ethics
• The World Mayor Prize

• Mayor of Calgary debates
• Mayor of Ghent debates

For Mayor of Belo Horizonte
For Mayor of Bordeaux
For Mayor of Bristol
For Mayor of Calgary
For Mayor of Ghent
For Mayor of Guatemala City
For Mayor of Houston
For Mayor of Iloilo City
For Mayor of Izmir
For Mayor of Jeddah
For Mayor of Jena
For Mayor of Lampedusa
For Mayor of Liverpool
For Mayor of Mangaung
For Mayor of Monteria
For Mayor of Oklahoma City
For Mayor of Ribera de Arriba
For Mayor of Sucre
For Mayor of Surabaya
For Mayor of Thessaloniki

The 2012 results
The 2012 project
The 2012 shortlist
The 2012 long-list
World Mayor Prize winners exchange letters

The 2010 results
The 2010 project
The 2010 finalists
Marcelo Ebrard says thank you
Mick Cornett says thank you
Helen Zille and Marcelo Ebrard exchange letters

The 2008 results
The 2008 project
The 2008 finalists
The World Mayor Award
Helen Zille thanks supporters
Mayors of Melbourne and Cape Town exchange letters

The 2006 results
The 2006 finalists
The World Mayor Award
Dora Bakoyannis congratulates John So

The 2005 results
Contest methodology
List of finalists
Winning mayors write
Mayor Rama writes - Mayor Bakoyannis replies

The 2004 contest
List of all 2004 finalists
Edi Rama wins 2004 award
People ask - Edi Rama replies

Front Page
About City Mayors

Many World Mayor finalists
succeeded to higher office

3 February 2015: When in October 2014 Joko Widodo assumed the presidency of Indonesia, another finalist of the World Mayor Project successfully made the move from running a city to occupying a high national office. Other city leaders, who were honoured by the World Mayor Project since 2004 and stepped up from local to national and even international office, include the former mayors of Mexico City, Sofia, Tirana, Cape Town, Athens, San Francisco, Baltimore, Lisbon and Florence.

Selection of World Mayor finalists
who succeeded to higher office

World Mayor honours
Move to higher office
Petro Santana Lopes Lisbon, Portugal 2004 finalist Prime Minister of Portugal
Larry Campbell Vancouver, Canada 2004 finalist Canadian Senator
Edi Rama Tirana, Albania Winner of the 2004 Prize Prime Minister of Albania
Jean-Marc Ayrault Nantes, France 2004 finalist Prime Minister of France
Wolfgang Tiefensee Leipzig, Germany 2004 finalist German cabinet minister
Jean-Marie Bockel Mulhouse, France 2004 finalist French cabinet minister
Gavin Newsom San Francisco, USA Top-10 finalist in 2005 Lieutenant Governor of California
Dora Bakoyannis Athens, Greece Winner of the 2005 Prize Foreign Minister of Greece
Fernando Damata Pimentel Belo Horizonte, Brazil Top-10 finalist in 2005 Brazilian cabinet minister
Martin O'Malley Baltimore, USA 2005 finalist Governor of Maryland
Mahmoud Ahmadinejad Tehran, Iran 2005 finalist President of Iran
Alberto Ruiz Gallardon Madrid, Spain 2005 finalist Spanish cabinet minister
John Hickenlooper Denver, USA Top-10 finalist in 2006 Governor of Colorado
Patrick Ramiaramanana Antananarivo, Madagascar Top-10 finalist in 2006 Madagascar cabinet minister
Helen Zille Cape Town, South Africa Winner of the 2008 Prize Premier of the Western Cape Province
Boiko Borisov Sofia, Bulgaria 2008 finalist Prime Minister of Bulgaria
Campbell Newman Brisbane, Australia Top-10 finalist in 2010 Premier of Queensland
Cory Booker Newark, USA Top-10 finalist in 2010 US Senator for New Jersey
Carlos Alberto Richa Curitiba, Brazil 2010 finalist State Governor of Paraná
Marcelo Ebrard Mexico City, Mexico Winner of the 2010 Prize President of the UN network on Safer Cities
Joko Widodo Surakarta, Indonesia Awarded third place in 2012 President of Indonesia
Matteo Renzi Florence, Italy 2012 finalist Prime Minister of Italy

The City Mayors Foundation awards the World Mayor Prize every two years to a mayor who has developed and realised a vision for urban living that is relevant to towns and cities across the world.

Marcelo Ebrard, winner of the 2010 World Mayor Prize and now President of the UN networkd on Safer Cities

World Mayor

The philanthropic City Mayors Foundation awards the World Mayor Prize every two years to a mayor who has made outstanding contributions to his / her community and has developed a vision for urban living and working that is relevant to towns and cities across the world. The Prize has been awarded since 2004.

Anyone voting for a mayor is also asked to consider whether his / her candidate is likely to agree to the City Mayors Code of Ethics. Mayors wishing to be considered for the World Mayor Prize will be asked to sign up to the Code.

Votes must be accompanied by a thoughtful supporting statement.

2014/15 Timetable
First-round nominations were accepted until the middle of May 2014. A longlist of 121 candidates was published on 22 May. A shortlist of 26 nominees was announced on 18 June 2014. A second round of voting will take place between now and the middle of October. The winner of the 2014 World Mayor Prize and other results of the World Mayor Project were announced on 3 February 2015.

The philanthropic City Mayors Foundation, the international think tank on urban affairs, organises the World Mayor Project and awards the World Mayor Prize. The Prize, which has been given since 2004, honours mayors with the vision, passion and skills to make their cities incredible places to live in, work in and visit. The World Mayor Project aims to show what outstanding mayors can achieve and raise their profiles nationally and internationally.

The organisers of the World Mayor Project are looking for city leaders who excel in qualities like: leadership and vision, management abilities and integrity, social and economic awareness, ability to provide security and to protect the environment as well as the will and ability to foster good relations between communities from different cultural, racial and social backgrounds. Mayors wishing to be considered for the World Mayor Prize will be asked to sign up to the City Mayors Code of Ethics.

The winner receives the artistically acclaimed World Mayor trophy, while the runner-up is given the World Mayor Commendation.

Winners and runners-up
2004 to 2014

In 2014: Winner: Naheed Nenshi (Calgary, Canada); First runner-up: Daniël Termont (Ghent, Belgium); Second runner-up: Tri Rismaharini (Surabaya, Indonesia)

In 2012: Winner: Iñaki Azkuna (Bilbao, Spain); Runner-up: Lisa Scaffidi (Perth, Australia); In third place: Joko Widodo (Surakarta, Indonesia)

In 2010: Winner: Marcelo Ebrard (Mexico City, Mexico); Runner-up: Mick Cornett (Oklahoma City, USA); In third place: Domenico Lucano (Riace, Italy)

In 2008: Winner: Helen Zille (Cape Town, South Africa); Runner up: Elmar Ledergerber (Zurich, Switzerland); In third place: Leopoldo López (Chacao, Venezuela)

In 2006: Winner: John So (Melbourne, Australia); Runner up: Job Cohen (Amsterdam, Netherland); In third place: Stephen Reed (Harrisburg, USA)

In 2005: Winner: Dora Bakoyannis (Athens, Greece); Runner-up: Hazel McCallion (Mississauga, Canada); In third place: Alvaro Arzú (Guatemala City, Guatemala)

In 2004: Winner: Edi Rama (Tirana, Albania); Runner-up: Andrés Manuel López Obrador (Mexico City, Mexico); In third place: Walter Veltroni (Rome, Italy)