Alfredo Sanchez Monteseirin, Mayor of Seville, Spain, and World Mayor finalist for Europe

About us

The 2010 results
The 2010 project
The 2010 finalists
Code of Ethics
The World Mayor Prize

The 2008 results
The 2008 project
The 2008 finalists
The World Mayor Award

The 2006 results
The 2006 finalists
The World Mayor Award

The 2005 results
Contest methodology
List of finalists
The World Mayor Award

Mayor of Athens
Mayor of Guatemala City
Mayor of Mississauga
Mayor of San Fernando
Mayor of San Francisco

Mayor of Athens
Mayor of Guatemala City
Mayor of Mississauga
Mayor of San Fernando
Mayor of Vienna

Comments on finalists from The Americas
Comments on finalists from Europe
Comments on finalists from Asia, Australia and Africa
Comments on Addis Ababa
Comments on Antananariva
Comments on Athens
Comments on Atlanta
Comments on Belo Horizonte
Comments on Bonn
Comments on Guatemala City
Comments on Karachi
Comments on London
Comments on Melbourne
Comments on Mississauga
Comments on Rio de Janeiro
Comments on Rome
Comments on San Fernando
Comments on San Francisco
Comments on Toronto
Comments on Vancouver
Comments on Vienna

Mayor of Addis Ababa
Mayor of Antananarivo
Mayor of Athens
Mayor of Belo Horizonte
Mayor of Bonn
Mayor of Ekaterinburg
Mayor of Guatemala City
Mayor of Innsbruck
Mayor of Karachi
Mayor of Kiev
Mayor of Melbourne
Mayor of Mississauga
Mayor of Munich
Mayor of Rhodes
Mayor of Rome
Mayor of Tshwane
Mayor of Vienna

The 2004 contest
List of all 2004 finalists
Edi Rama wins 2004 award
People ask - Edi Rama replies
Why we voted for the Mayor of Tirana
Why we voted for the Mayor of Mexico City
History of Tirana

Front Page
Site Search
About City Mayors

List of finalists for
World Mayor 2004

Africa Morocco Casablanca Mr Mohamed Sajid
Africa South Africa Pretoria Mr Smangaliso Mkhatshwa
Africa Tunisia Tunis Mr Abbes Mohsen
Americas Brazil Rio de Janeiro Mr Cesar Maia
Americas Brazil São Paulo Ms Marta Suplicy
Americas Canada Mississauga Ms Hazel McCallion
Americas Canada Ottawa Mr Bob Chiarelli
Americas Canada Vancouver Mr Larry W. Campbell
Americas Colombia Manizales Mr Nestor Eugenio Ramirez Cardona
Americas Guatemala Antigua Mr Victor Hugo del Pozo
Americas Mexico Mexico City Mr Andres Manuel Lopez Obrador
Americas USA Atlanta Ms Shirley Franklin
Americas USA Baltimore Mr Martin O’Malley
Americas USA Boston Mr Thomas M. Menino
Americas USA Delray Beach Mr Jeff Perlman
Americas USA Miami Mr Manuel A. Diaz
Americas USA Rochester Mr William A. Johnson
Americas USA San Francisco Mr Gavin Newsom
Americas USA South Bay Mr Clarence Anthony
Americas USA St Paul Mr Randy Kelly
Asia Japan Hiroshima Mr Tadatoshi Akiba
Asia Lebanon Beirut Mr Abdel Meneem Al-Ariss
Asia Nepal Kathmandu Mr Keshav Sthapit*
Asia Palestine Nablus Mr Ghassan W Shakah*
Asia Turkey Ankara Mr Melih Gokcek
Europe Albania Tirana Mr Edi Rama
Europe Austria Vienna Mr Michael Häupl
Europe Denmark Copenhagen Mr Jens Kramer Mikkelsen***
Europe France Besançon Mr Jean-Louis Fousseret
Europe France Mulhouse Mr Jean-Marie Bockel
Europe France Nantes Mr Jean-Marc Ayrault
Europe France Paris Mr Bertrand Delanoe
Europe Germany Berlin Mr Klaus Wowereit
Europe Germany Cologne Mr Fritz Schramma
Europe Germany Freiburg Dr Dieter Salomon
Europe Germany Leipzig Mr Wolfgang Tiefensee
Europe Germany Munich Mr Christian Ude
Europe Germany Stuttgart Dr Wolfgang Schuster
Europe Greece Athens Mrs Dora Bakoyannis
Europe Hungary Budapest Mr Gábor Demzsky
Europe Italy Rome Mr Walter Veltroni
Europe Italy Turin Mr Sergio Chiamparino
Europe Lithuania Vilnius Mr Artûras Zuokas
Europe Portugal Lisbon Mr Pedro Santana Lopes**
Europe Russia Moscow Mr Yuri Luzhkov
Europe Spain Barcelona Mr Juan Clos
Europe Spain Seville Mr Alfredo Sanchez Monteseirin
Europe Sweden Stockholm Ms Annika Billstrom
Europe UK London Mr Ken Livingstone

*Please note that due to the political and security situations in Nepal and Palestine the Mayors of Kathmandu and Nablus resigned from office. However, they remained in the project World Mayor 2004.

**On 17 July 2004 Lisbon Mayor Pedro Santana Lopes was sworn in as Portugal's new Prime Minister after the decision of the previous Prime Minister, Jose Manuel Barroso, to accept the office of Commission President of the European Union.

***Mr Jens Kramer Mikkelsen resigned as Mayor of Copenhagen in November 2004.

Arturas Zuokas, Mayor of Vilnius, Lithuania, and World Mayor finalist for Europe

World Mayor 2006

The World Mayor project is now in its third year. As in 2004 and 2005, this year’s World Mayor will again be seeking out mayors who have the vision, passion and skills to make their cities amazing places to live in, work in and visit. The World Mayor project aims to show what outstanding mayors can achieve and raise their profiles. It honours those who have served their communities well and who have made contributions to the well-being of cities nationally and internationally. The most outstanding mayor of 2006 will be presented with the World Mayor award.

In 2004, Edi Rama, Mayor of Tirana, won the Award. The 2005 winner was Dora Bakoyannis, Mayor of Athens and now Greek Foreign Minister.

Between January and May each year, citizens from across the world are invited to nominate mayors for the World Mayor Award. They are also asked to provide reasons for their choice. After the close of the nomination stage, City Mayors, the organisers of the contest, prepare a shortlist of mayors who go forward to the second round of the World Mayor contest. In 2006, the list of finalists includes 50 mayors from North and South America, Europe, Asia, Australasia as well as Africa.