Calgary Mayor Naheed Nenshi was awarded the 2014 World Mayor Prize

About World Mayor

Please nominate your candidate for the 2018 World Mayor Prize


• World Mayor winners from 2004 to 2014
• The 2014 shortlist
• The 2014 longlist
• Code of Ethics
• The World Mayor Prize

• Mayor of Calgary debates
• Mayor of Ghent debates

For Mayor of Belo Horizonte
For Mayor of Bordeaux
For Mayor of Bristol
For Mayor of Calgary
For Mayor of Ghent
For Mayor of Guatemala City
For Mayor of Houston
For Mayor of Iloilo City
For Mayor of Izmir
For Mayor of Jeddah
For Mayor of Jena
For Mayor of Lampedusa
For Mayor of Liverpool
For Mayor of Mangaung
For Mayor of Monteria
For Mayor of Oklahoma City
For Mayor of Ribera de Arriba
For Mayor of Sucre
For Mayor of Surabaya
For Mayor of Thessaloniki

The 2012 results
The 2012 project
The 2012 shortlist
The 2012 long-list
World Mayor Prize winners exchange letters

The 2010 results
The 2010 project
The 2010 finalists
Marcelo Ebrard says thank you
Mick Cornett says thank you
Helen Zille and Marcelo Ebrard exchange letters

The 2008 results
The 2008 project
The 2008 finalists
The World Mayor Award
Helen Zille thanks supporters
Mayors of Melbourne and Cape Town exchange letters

The 2006 results
The 2006 finalists
The World Mayor Award
Dora Bakoyannis congratulates John So

The 2005 results
Contest methodology
List of finalists
Winning mayors write
Mayor Rama writes - Mayor Bakoyannis replies

The 2004 contest
List of all 2004 finalists
Edi Rama wins 2004 award
People ask - Edi Rama replies

Front Page
About City Mayors

World Mayor 2014
The 26 finalists

The shortlist of 26 nominees for the 2014 World Mayor Prize included four mayors from North America, four from Latin America, nine from Europe, six from Asia, one from Australia and two from Africa. The results were announced on 3 February 2015.

North America

• Mayor of Calgary, Canada
• Mayor of Houston, USA
• Mayor of Oklahoma City, USA
• Mayor of Sacramento, USA

Latin America
• Mayor of Belo Horizonte, Brazil
• Mayor of Guatemala City, Guatemala
• Mayor of Monteria, Colombia
• Mayor of Sucre, Venezuela

• Mayor of Ghent, Belgium
• Mayor of Bordeaux, France
• Mayor of Jena, Germany
• Mayor of Thessaloniki, Greece
• Mayor of Lampedusa, Italy
• Mayor of Riga, Latvia
• Mayor of Ribera de Arriba, Spain
• Mayor of Bristol, UK
• Mayor of Liverpool, UK

• Mayor of Surabaya, Indonesia
• Mayor of Haifa, Israel
• Mayor of Iloilo City, Philippines
• Mayor of Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
• Mayor of Seoul, South Korea
• Mayor of Izmir, Turkey

• Mayor of Sydney, Australia

• Mayor of Victoria, Seychelles
• Mayor of Mangaung, South Africa

North America

Mayor Naheed Nenshi, Calgary, Canada

Mayor Annise Parker, Houston, USA

Mayor Mick Cornett, Oklahoma City, USA

Mayor Kevin Johnson, Sacramento, USA

Latin America

Mayor Marcio Lacerda, Belo Horizonte, Brazil

Mayor Álvaro Arzú, Guatemala City, Guatemala

Mayor Carlos Eduardo Correa, Monteria, Colombia

Mayor Carlos Ocariz, Sucre, Venezuela


Mayor Daniel Termont, Ghent, Belgium

Mayor Alain Juppé, Bordeaux, France

Mayor Albrecht Schröter, Jena, Germany

Mayor Yiannis Boutaris, Thessaloniki, Greece

Mayor Giusy Nicolini, Lampedusa, Italy

Mayor Nils Usakovs, Riga, Latvia

Mayor José Ramón García, Ribera de Arriba, Spain

Mayor George Ferguson, Bristol, UK

Mayor Joe Anderson, Liverpool, UK


Mayor Tri Rismaharini (Risma), Surabaya, Indonesia

Mayor Yona Yahav, Haifa, Israel

Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog, Iloilo City, Philippines

Mayor Hani Mohammad Aburas, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia

Mayor Park Won-soon, Seoul, South Korea

Mayor Aziz Kocaoglu, Izmir, Turkey


Mayor Clover Moore, Sydney, Australia


Mayor Jacqueline Moustache, Victoria, Seychelles

Mayor Thabo Manyoni, Mangaung, South Africa

For your information: The World Mayor Project, organised by The City Mayors Foundation, has no connection with any city or organisation and is run on strictly non-commercial lines. Sponsorships, advertising, subscriptions, donations or any other kind of revenue are NOT sought and will be rejected, if offered.

Ghent Mayor Daniël Termont was awarded the World Mayor Commendation for Serices to European Cities

World Mayor

The philanthropic City Mayors Foundation awards the World Mayor Prize every two years to a mayor who has made outstanding contributions to his / her community and has developed a vision for urban living and working that is relevant to towns and cities across the world. The Prize has been awarded since 2004.

Anyone voting for a mayor is also asked to consider whether his / her candidate is likely to agree to the City Mayors Code of Ethics. Mayors wishing to be considered for the World Mayor Prize will be asked to sign up to the Code.

Votes must be accompanied by a thoughtful supporting statement.

2014/15 Timetable
First-round nominations were accepted until the middle of May 2014. A longlist of 121 candidates was published on 22 May. A shortlist of 26 nominees was announced on 18 June 2014. A second round of voting will take place between now and the middle of October. The winner of the 2014 World Mayor Prize and other results of the World Mayor Project were announced on 3 February 2015.

The philanthropic City Mayors Foundation, the international think tank on urban affairs, organises the World Mayor Project and awards the World Mayor Prize. The Prize, which has been given since 2004, honours mayors with the vision, passion and skills to make their cities incredible places to live in, work in and visit. The World Mayor Project aims to show what outstanding mayors can achieve and raise their profiles nationally and internationally.

The organisers of the World Mayor Project are looking for city leaders who excel in qualities like: leadership and vision, management abilities and integrity, social and economic awareness, ability to provide security and to protect the environment as well as the will and ability to foster good relations between communities from different cultural, racial and social backgrounds. Mayors wishing to be considered for the World Mayor Prize will be asked to sign up to the City Mayors Code of Ethics.

The winner receives the artistically acclaimed World Mayor trophy, while the runner-up is given the World Mayor Commendation.

Winners and runners-up
2004 to 2014

In 2014: Winner: Naheed Nenshi (Calgary, Canada); First runner-up: Daniël Termont (Ghent, Belgium); Second runner-up: Tri Rismaharini (Surabaya, Indonesia)

In 2012: Winner: Iñaki Azkuna (Bilbao, Spain); Runner-up: Lisa Scaffidi (Perth, Australia); In third place: Joko Widodo (Surakarta, Indonesia)

In 2010: Winner: Marcelo Ebrard (Mexico City, Mexico); Runner-up: Mick Cornett (Oklahoma City, USA); In third place: Domenico Lucano (Riace, Italy)

In 2008: Winner: Helen Zille (Cape Town, South Africa); Runner up: Elmar Ledergerber (Zurich, Switzerland); In third place: Leopoldo López (Chacao, Venezuela)

In 2006: Winner: John So (Melbourne, Australia); Runner up: Job Cohen (Amsterdam, Netherland); In third place: Stephen Reed (Harrisburg, USA)

In 2005: Winner: Dora Bakoyannis (Athens, Greece); Runner-up: Hazel McCallion (Mississauga, Canada); In third place: Alvaro Arzú (Guatemala City, Guatemala)

In 2004: Winner: Edi Rama (Tirana, Albania); Runner-up: Andrés Manuel López Obrador (Mexico City, Mexico); In third place: Walter Veltroni (Rome, Italy)