World Mayor 2020

François Decoster, Mayor of Saint-Omer
François Decoster, Maire de Saint-Omer, France, depuis 2014
Des essais World Mayor
François Decoster
Maire de Saint-Omer, France
Par Sean O'Curneen*


OTHER ESSAYS: Mayor of Ankara ||| Mayor of Braga ||| Mayor of Bratislava ||| Mayor of Grigny ||| Maire de Grigny (Français) ||| Mayor of Mannheim ||| Mayor of Raqqa ||| Mayor of Rotterdam ||| Mayor of Saint-Omer ||| Maire de Saint-Omer (Français) ||| Mayor of San Bellino ||| Sindaco di San Bellino |||



FRONT PAGE
About World Mayor
City Mayors Foundation
Email







WORLD MAYOR 2021
- The Winners
- The Project
- The Finalists
- The Shortlist
- The Longlist
- Selection criteria
- Covid-19
- World Mayor history
- World Mayor Sculpture
- Poverty
- Code of Ethics

- Press & Media

INTERVIEWS
- Mayor of Ankara
- Mayor of Braga
- Mayor of Bratislava
- Mayor of Grigny
- Maire de Grigny
- Mayor of Rotterdam
- Mayor of Saint-Omer
- Mayor of San Bellino
- Sindaco di San Bellino
- Mayor of Villa del Conte

ESSAYS
- Mayor of Ankara
- Mayor of Braga
- Mayor of Bratislava
- Mayor of Grigny
- Maire de Grigny
- Mayor of Mannheim
- Mayor of Raqqa
- Mayor of Rotterdam
- Mayor of Saint-Omer
- Maire de Saint-Omer
- Mayor of San Bellino
- Sindaco di San Bellino

TESTIMONIALS
- Mayor of Amsterdam
- Mayor of Ankara
- Mayor of Arnhem
- Mayor of Bergamo
- Mayor of Bogotá
- Mayor of Braga
- Mayor of Bratislava
- Mayor of Buenos Aires
- Mayor of Carmignano
- Mayor of Cascais
- Mayor of Compton
- Mayor of Dantumadiel
- Mayor of Freetown
- Mayor of Grenoble
- Mayor of Grigny
- Mayor of Guarulhos
- Mayor of Kuala Lumpur
- Mayor of Mannheim
- Mayor of Mexico City
- Mayor of Milan
- Mayor of Raqqa
- Mayor of Rostock
- Mayor of Rotterdam
- Mayor of Saint-Omer
- Mayor of San Bellino
- Mayor of Villa del Conte
- Mayor of Warsaw



WORLD MAYOR 2018

WORLD MAYOR 2016

WORLD MAYOR 2014

WORLD MAYOR 2012

WORLD MAYOR 2010

WORLD MAYOR 2008

WORLD MAYOR 2006

WORLD MAYOR 2005

WORLD MAYOR 2004

L'ESSAI
(Essay in English)

Si vous êtes une personne qui aime les surprises, vous allez vraiment aimer cet endroit. S'il existait un indice mesurant le nombre de surprises par habitant, il est fort possible que cette ville soit classée parmi les meilleures du pays, et presque certainement de sa région. Car la ville de Saint-Omer en est pleine, et il est difficile de savoir laquelle vous présenter en premier. La première surprise est peut-être que vous lisiez un article sur cette ville de 15 000 habitants en rapport avec le World Mayor Awards – le concours du meilleur maire du monde. Mais ce ne sera une surprise que pour ceux qui ne connaissent pas le maire François Decoster. Pour ceux qui l'ont vu à l'œuvre, le fait qu'il ait reçu une telle reconnaissance internationale pour son travail n'est pas une surprise du tout.

François est né en dehors des frontières de la commune, mais il a presque immédiatement déménagé avec ses parents pour devenir résident de Saint-Omer, une ville dont l'illustre histoire et ses nombreuses réalisations remontent à plusieurs siècles. En effet, éclipsée dans l'actualité internationale par des villes voisines comme Lille, Calais, Dunkerque, peu de gens savent que Saint Omer a été en fait l'une des premières entités du monde occidental à recevoir le statut de ville. La date n'est pas claire, mais il existe des preuves remontant à près de mille ans. Ainsi, si François Decoster n'a pas le municipalisme dans les veines, il a certainement grandi en respirant l'air de l'histoire municipale.

Pendant la majeure partie de ces nombreux siècles, Saint-Omer a fait jeu égal avec les autres villes de la région et a même bénéficié d'une plus grande notoriété internationale que celles-ci. Les indices de la place importante qu'elle a occupée dans l'histoire sont immédiatement évidents pour ceux qui visite pour la première fois, bien avant leur arrivée, car sa cathédrale Notre Dame est facilement repérable lorsqu'on s'en approche de loin. Et en se promenant dans la vieille ville, le visiteur se rend vite compte que ce n'est pas seulement la religion, mais aussi la recherche de la connaissance et la culture qui ont été les moteurs de l'histoire de Saint Omer. La ville, dont les origines remontent à la fondation de deux monastères au VIIe siècle, a rapidement acquis une importance régionale et stratégique en raison de son activité économique et culturelle, changeant inévitablement de mains à plusieurs reprises au cours des premiers siècles entre la France et les Pays-Bas, pour devenir définitivement française à partir de 1678. C'est dans ces années-là, en raison des conflits religieux entre protestants et catholiques, que l'ouverture internationale de Saint-Omer prend son essor : le collège des jésuites fondé en 1568 devient un centre important pour les catholiques anglais et américains en quête d'enseignement du catholicisme. Et voici l'une des plus grandes surprises associées à cette ville : la fondation de la république américaine, les États-Unis d'Amérique, a des liens avec Saint-Omer. L'un des signataires de la Déclaration d'indépendance, Charles Carroll de Carrollton, a étudié à Saint Omer, tout comme l'un des signataires de la Constitution des États-Unis, Daniel Carroll, et John Carroll, le premier évêque catholique des États-Unis. Tous trois étaient membres de la même famille, mais ils ne furent pas les seuls Américains à séjourner à Saint-Omer au Collège des Jésuites, et la ville a maintenu des liens avec les États-Unis jusqu'à ce jour.

C'est précisément cette combinaison d'ouverture internationale, d'héritage historique et de dynamisme culturel qui a été au cœur de l'activisme politique et social de François. Son premier engagement en tant qu'adolescent a été dans une association locale qui aidait les orphelins du Cambodge et de Roumanie, ainsi que les enfants défavorisés de la région à jouer au football, ou à visiter la Coupole - un musée de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et un planétarium astronomique, à 5 km de Saint Omer, à l'intérieur de ce qui était un site souterrain de lancement de missiles V2, construit par les nazis en utilisant du travail forcé, dans le but de bombarder la Grande-Bretagne.

La vocation au service public est venue très tôt à François et, à l'âge de 22 ans, il était sur la liste des candidats au conseil municipal. "Pour moi, dit-il, il n'y a jamais eu de doute quant à l'endroit où je ferais de la politique. Il fallait que ce soit à l'endroit où j'ai grandi et où j'ai toujours vécu." Sa mère, cependant, avait d'autres plans et, inquiète d'une carrière en politique pour son jeune fils, elle a discuté discrètement avec le maire et lui a demandé de s'assurer que François ne soit pas élu. Ainsi, ignorant la campagne parallèle de sa mère, François se retrouve en bas de la liste des candidats et manque de peu de devenir un représentant démocratiquement élu. Bien que le plan de sa mère ait fonctionné, il n'a pas duré longtemps, car François est devenu de facto le premier à occuper tout poste vacant au sein du Conseil. Deux ans plus tard, un conseiller démissionne et François entre en fonction pour la première fois. C'était en 1997. Dix-sept ans plus tard, les habitants de Saint-Omer - les Audomarois, ainsi appelés en raison de l'évêque médiéval Audomarus, canonisé plus tard sous le nom de Saint-Omer et enterré dans la ville - confient à François l'administration générale de la ville.

Ces années intermédiaires ont donné à François l'occasion de développer sa connaissance de la gouvernance locale ainsi que du monde en général. Européen passionné, il a étudié au Collège d'Europe dans la ville belge de Bruges, a poursuivi une carrière professionnelle dans l'administration publique nationale et a voyagé sur les cinq continents, si bien qu'aujourd'hui, il dit avoir fait plusieurs fois le tour du monde. Et pendant tout ce temps, il est resté engagé et dévoué à Saint Omer. Si tout cela semble impressionnant, c'est le cas; pourtant, pour ceux qui ont vu François en action, c'est tout simplement sa façon d'être. En effet, il a une capacité extraordinaire de jongler avec beaucoup de choses en même temps, capable d'écouter un briefing complexe tout en répondant à des messages sur son téléphone qui lui parviennent directement des citoyens de Saint Omer, ou des collègues politiques, puis de prendre une décision éclairée en réponse au briefing oral. Et tout cela avec un degré étonnant d'imperturbabilité, et toujours avec la plus grande courtoisie.

Alors, quand les élections locales de 2014 sont arrivées en France, le moment était venu. François avait vu le monde et connu différents gouvernements à plusieurs niveaux, il avait une connaissance intime de l'histoire et du potentiel de sa ville, et avait des idées et de l'énergie à offrir aux habitants de Saint Omer. La première chose qu'il voulait faire était de leur montrer comment il avait l'intention de gouverner, et la campagne lui a offert l'occasion parfaite. Il a organisé une campagne très ouverte et dynamique, en faisant du porte-à-porte contrairement à l'opposition, il a organisé des dizaines d'apéritifs privés, chacun avec une petite sélection de citoyens pour parler de la ville autour d'un verre, et a introduit les "Ballades urbaines", où il se promenait simplement dans une rue avec son équipe en discutant avec les habitants qui souhaitaient venir le rencontrer. "Il était important pour moi que les Audomarois voient que j'avais l'intention de gouverner de manière ouverte en leur donnant un accès direct à leur maire", dit-il.

Les résultats de l'élection ont été serrés, mais François est devenu le maire Decoster après avoir remporté 47% des voix contre 44% pour son principal rival. On dit souvent que certaines personnes font de la politique pour être quelque chose, tandis que d'autres font de la politique pour réaliser quelque chose.
François fait très certainement partie de ces derniers, et la transformation de la ville a commencé dès le premier jour de son mandat de six ans. Il avait promis de faire revivre le patrimoine de la ville, il s'est donc immédiatement attelé à trouver les fonds nécessaires pour rouvrir le magnifique théâtre néoclassique "à l'italienne" du 19e siècle niché dans l'ancien hôtel de ville, qui avait été fermé pendant 45 ans pour des raisons de sécurité. Quatre ans plus tard, il a rouvert avec des sièges pour plus de 300 amateurs de théâtre, avec toutes les caractéristiques modernes de sécurité et de fonctionnement, en respectant pleinement le patrimoine, devenant une sorte de cathédrale de la culture, non seulement pour la ville mais aussi pour toute la région.

En 2016, François a mis en place un partenariat qui a acheté l'ancienne gare ferroviaire abandonnée, avec l'aide d'un financement de l'Union européenne, afin de la convertir en un centre d'innovation, de créativité et de start-ups, non seulement pour Saint-Omer, mais aussi pour la région dans son ensemble, et qui a été inauguré en 2019, cinq ans après son élection.

Et comme pour prouver son point de vue selon lequel une ville ne peut être transformée que par l'effort collectif, lorsqu'il a lancé l'initiative pour célébrer les liens historiques entre Saint Omer et le Royaume-Uni, le bibliothécaire de l'impressionnante bibliothèque de Saint Omer a découvert dans sa spectaculaire collection médiévale, un First Folio de William Shakespeare longtemps oublié, l'une des 233 premières éditions survivantes des œuvres complètes du barde anglais. Il est désormais fièrement exposé aux côtés de la première édition originale de la bible de Gutenberg, qui fait également partie de la collection de Saint Omer.

Célébrer de tels liens internationaux est naturel pour François, et il était déterminé à partager cet état d'esprit avec les Audomarois, en particulier pour célébrer la dimension européenne de leur identité. Chaque 9 mai, la ville célèbre la Journée de l'Europe, avec des visites guidées des lieux de la ville qui ont bénéficié de fonds européens pour leur réaménagement, ainsi que des débats et des festivités. Il n'est donc pas surprenant que depuis 2014, Saint Omer ait connu la plus forte croissance démographique de toutes les communes du département du Pas-de-Calais. Le chômage a baissé de 25%, la ville est plus vivante, et lorsque les élections sont revenues en 2020, les Audomarois ont récompensé le maire Decoster avec un retentissant 66% des voix, en pleine pandémie.

Et c'est la sécurité et la santé de ses concitoyens qui prévalent dans l'esprit de François depuis un an et demi. Il a mis en place des sessions de questions-réponses en ligne avec le médecin local pour informer les citoyens sur le COVID-19, il s'est assuré que Saint Omer soit l'une des premières administrations municipales à fournir des masques à la population locale, et il se concentre maintenant sur la manière de ramener la "joie de vivre" dans la ville lorsque les restrictions liées à la pandémie seront levées. Lorsque cela se produira, il se tournera vers les autres défis qu'il a identifiés pour son second mandat : fournir de meilleurs logements à ceux qui vivent dans des habitations de mauvaise qualité datant du XIXe siècle ou de l'après-guerre, construire des logements pour les nouveaux arrivants, investir dans les personnes et les infrastructures, et développer davantage la démocratie participative, afin que les comités de quartier puissent mieux utiliser les petits budgets qu'ils reçoivent, soit 7 000 euros, pour réaliser des investissements locaux à petite échelle, en responsabilisant les citoyens et en encourageant la prise de responsabilités. "Gouverner est un processus, cela prend du temps, et c'est une question de travail d'équipe", dit François.

Les habitants de Saint-Omer sont au travail, ils revitalisent leur ville, reprennent leur place sur la scène internationale et partagent avec le monde les nombreuses surprises dont ils sont les dépositaires.


* Sean O'Curneen
Sean O'Curneen est secrétaire général du groupe "Renew Europe" au sein du Comité européen des régions. Pendant plus de 20 ans, il a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des maires de toute l'Europe, d'abord entre 2000 et 2004 au sein de l'unité des affaires internationales et européennes du maire de Londres, puis à partir de 2004 dans son poste actuel. Il est titulaire d'un master en politique européenne du Birkbeck College de l'université de Londres et d'un master en journalisme de l'université d'Aix-Marseille. Il est l'auteur et narrateur du podcast "Letter from Brussels", disponible sur la plupart des grandes plateformes de podcast.

World Mayor 2020

François Decoster, Mayor of Saint-Omer
François Decoster, Mayor of Saint-Omer, France, since 2014
World Mayor Essays
François Decoster
Mayor of Saint-Omer, France
By Sean O'Curneen*


OTHER ESSAYS: Mayor of Ankara ||| Mayor of Braga ||| Mayor of Bratislava ||| Mayor of Grigny ||| Maire de Grigny (Français) ||| Mayor of Mannheim ||| Mayor of Raqqa ||| Mayor of Rotterdam ||| Mayor of Saint-Omer ||| Maire de Saint-Omer (Français) ||| Mayor of San Bellino ||| Sindaco di San Bellino |||



FRONT PAGE
About World Mayor
City Mayors Foundation
Email







WORLD MAYOR 2021
- The Winners
- The Project
- The Finalists
- The Shortlist
- The Longlist
- Selection criteria
- Covid-19
- World Mayor history
- World Mayor Sculpture
- Poverty
- Code of Ethics

- Press & Media

INTERVIEWS
- Mayor of Ankara
- Mayor of Braga
- Mayor of Bratislava
- Mayor of Grigny
- Maire de Grigny
- Mayor of Rotterdam
- Mayor of Saint-Omer
- Mayor of San Bellino
- Sindaco di San Bellino
- Mayor of Villa del Conte

ESSAYS
- Mayor of Ankara
- Mayor of Braga
- Mayor of Bratislava
- Mayor of Grigny
- Maire de Grigny
- Mayor of Mannheim
- Mayor of Raqqa
- Mayor of Rotterdam
- Mayor of Saint-Omer
- Maire de Saint-Omer
- Mayor of San Bellino
- Sindaco di San Bellino

TESTIMONIALS
- Mayor of Amsterdam
- Mayor of Ankara
- Mayor of Arnhem
- Mayor of Bergamo
- Mayor of Bogotá
- Mayor of Braga
- Mayor of Bratislava
- Mayor of Buenos Aires
- Mayor of Carmignano
- Mayor of Cascais
- Mayor of Compton
- Mayor of Dantumadiel
- Mayor of Freetown
- Mayor of Grenoble
- Mayor of Grigny
- Mayor of Guarulhos
- Mayor of Kuala Lumpur
- Mayor of Mannheim
- Mayor of Mexico City
- Mayor of Milan
- Mayor of Raqqa
- Mayor of Rostock
- Mayor of Rotterdam
- Mayor of Saint-Omer
- Mayor of San Bellino
- Mayor of Villa del Conte
- Mayor of Warsaw



WORLD MAYOR 2018

WORLD MAYOR 2016

WORLD MAYOR 2014

WORLD MAYOR 2012

WORLD MAYOR 2010

WORLD MAYOR 2008

WORLD MAYOR 2006

WORLD MAYOR 2005

WORLD MAYOR 2004

THE ESSAY
(L'essai en français)

If you are a person who enjoys surprises, you are really going to like Saint Omer. If there was an index that measured surprises per capita, it's quite possible that this town would rank amongst the highest in its country, and almost certainly of its region. For the city of Saint Omer is full of them, and it's hard to know which one to introduce you to first. Perhaps the first surprise is that you are reading about this town of 15,000 people in connection with the World Mayor Project. But that will only be a surprise to those who don't know Mayor François Decoster. To those who have seen him in action, the fact that he has received such international recognition for his work, will come as no surprise at all.

Saint Omer
François was born outside of the municipal boundaries, but almost immediately moved with his parents to become a resident of Saint Omer, a town with an illustrious history and many accomplishments going back many centuries. Indeed, more recently overshadowed when it comes to international name-recognition by its nearest peers, Lille, Calais, Dunkirk, few people know that Saint Omer was in fact one of the earliest settlements in the western world to receive the status of a city. The date is not clear, but there is evidence going back almost a thousand years. Thus, if François Decoster doesn't have municipalism running through his veins, he certainly grew up breathing the air of municipal history.

For most of those many centuries, Saint Omer was on a par with the other cities of the region and it even had greater international name-recognition than they did. The clues to its important place in history are immediately evident to the first-time visitor well before arriving, as its cathedral of Notre Dame can be easily spotted when approaching from a distance. And it soon becomes apparent to the visitor when strolling through the old part of town that it wasn't just religion, but also the pursuit of knowledge and culture that have been driving forces throughout Saint Omer's history.

Tracing its origins back to the foundation of two 7th century monasteries in the area, the town quickly grew in regional and strategic importance because of its economic and cultural activity, inevitably changing hands several times in the early centuries between France and the Netherlands, becoming permanently French from 1678 onwards. It was in those years, as a result of religious conflict between protestants and catholics, when Saint Omer's international outlook took off: the Jesuit College founded in 1568 became a major centre for English and American catholics, seeking instruction in catholicism. And here comes one of the biggest surprises associated with this town: the foundation of the American republic, the United States of America, has links with Saint Omer. One of the signatories to the Declaration of Independence, Charles Carroll of Carrollton studied at Saint Omer, as did one of the signatories to the United States Constitution, Daniel Carroll, as did John Carroll, the first Catholic bishop of the United States. All three of them were members of the same family, but they were not the only Americans to spend time in Saint Omer at the Jesuit College, and the city has maintained ties with the United States to this day.

It is precisely this combination of international outlook, historical heritage, and cultural dynamism which has been at the core of François' political and social activism. His first involvement as a teenager, was in a local association that helped orphans in Cambodia and in Romania, as well as helping local deprived children to play football, or to visit the Coupole – a World War Two museum and astronomical planetarium, just 5km outside Saint Omer, inside what was an underground V2 missile launch site, built by the Nazis using slave labour, with the purpose of bombing Britain.


Mayor François Decoster
The calling of public service came to François very early and by the age of 22 he was on the list of candidates to the local council. "For me", he says, "there was never any doubt about where I would practice politics. It had to be in the place where I grew up and have always lived." His mother, however, had other plans and, worried about a career in politics for her young son, she had a quiet word with the mayor and asked that he make sure that François would not get elected. So, unaware of his mother's parallel campaign, François ended up low down on the list of candidates, and just missed out on becoming an elected democratic representative. Although his mother's plan had worked, it did not last for long, because François became the de-facto first-in-line to fill any vacancy on the Council. Sure enough, two years later a councillor resigned and François took office for the first time. It was 1997. Seventeen years later, the people of Saint Omer – the Audomarois, so called after the medieval bishop Audomarus, later canonized as Saint Omer, and who is buried in the town - would entrust François with the overall responsibility for managing the affairs of the city.

Those intervening years gave François the opportunity to develop his understanding of local government as well as of the wider world. A passionate European, he studied at the College of Europe in the Belgian city of Bruges, developed a professional career in national public administration, and travelled to all five continents, such that today he says he has been around the world several times. And all the time, he remained engaged with and committed to Saint Omer. If all of that sounds impressive, it is. Yet, to those who have seen François in action, it's simply the way he is. Indeed, he has the most extraordinary ability to juggle many things at the same time, able to listen to a complex briefing while responding to messages on his phone coming directly to him from citizens of Saint Omer, or from political colleagues, and then give an informed decision in response to the oral briefing. And all with an astonishing degree of unflappability, and always with the utmost courtesy.

So, when the 2014 local elections arrived in France, the time was right. François had seen the world, experienced government at several levels, had an intimate knowledge of his city's history and potential, and had ideas and energy to offer the people of Saint Omer. The first thing he wanted to do was to show them how he intended to govern, and the campaign offered him the perfect opportunity. He organised a very open and dynamic campaign, going door-to-door unlike the opposition, organised dozens of private "apéritifs" each with a small selection of citizens to chat about the town over a drink, and introduced the "Ballades urbaines", urban strolls where he would simply walk down a street with his team chatting to any residents who wished to come and meet him. "It was important for me that the Audomarois would see that I intended to govern in an open manner giving them direct access to their mayor", he says.

The election results were close, but François became Mayor Decoster after winning 47% of the votes to 44% to his main rival. It is often said that some people go into politics to be something, while others go into politics to achieve something. François is most definitely among the latter, and the transformation of the city began immediately on his first day of the six-year mandate. He had promised to revive the town's heritage, so he immediately set out to find the necessary funding to re-open the beautiful neoclassical 19th century "Italian-style" theatre nestled inside the old Town Hall which had been closed for 45 years for security reasons. Four years later it re-opened with seats for more than 300 theatre-lovers, with all the modern security and operational features, fully respecting the heritage, becoming a sort of cathedral of culture, not just for the town itself, but appealing to the wider region.

In 2016, François put together a partnership that purchased the old abandoned railway station, with the help of European Union funding, in order to convert it into a hub of innovation, creativity, and start ups, not just for Saint Omer, but for the wider region, and which was inaugurated in 2019, five years after his election.

And as if to prove his point that a city can only be transformed through a collective effort, when he launched an initiative to celebrate the historical ties between Saint Omer and the United Kingdom, the librarian of Saint Omer's impressive library discovered in its spectacular medieval collection, a long-forgotten First Folio of William Shakespeare, one of only 233 surviving first editions of the complete works of the English bard. It is now proudly displayed alongside the original first edition of Gutenberg's bible which is also part of the Saint Omer collection.

Celebrating such international connections comes naturally to François, and he was determined to share that spirit with the Audomarois, in particular to celebrate the European dimension of their identity. Every 9th of May, the city celebrates Europe Day, with guided tours of those places in the town which have received EU funds for redevelopment, as well as debates and festivities.

It is therefore not surprising that since 2014, Saint Omer has experienced the highest population growth of any municipality in the department of Pas-de-Calais. Unemployment has dropped by 25%, the town is more lively, and when the elections came around again in 2020, the Audomarois rewarded Mayor Decoster with a resounding 66% of the vote, in the middle of a pandemic.  

And it's the security and health of his citizens, which has been uppermost in François' mind for the past year and a half. He set up online question-and-answer sessions with the local doctor to inform citizens about COVID-19, he made sure that Saint Omer was one of the first city administrations to provide masks to the local population, and he is now focusing on how to bring back the "joie-de-vivre" to the town as the pandemic restrictions are eased. When that occurs he will turn to the other challenges he had identified for his second mandate: providing better homes for those living in low quality 19th century or post-war housing, building homes for the newcomers, investing in people and infrastructure, and further developing participatory democracy, so that neighbourhood committees can better use the small budgets they receive of 7,000 EUR to carry out small scale local investments, empowering the citizens and encouraging responsibility. "Governing is a process, it takes time, and it's about team work," says François.

The people of Saint Omer are busy at work, revitalising their town, reclaiming its place on the international scene, and sharing with the world the many surprises of which they are custodians. 


*Sean O’Curneen
Sean O'Curneen is Secretary General of the Renew Europe Group in the European Committee of the Regions. For more than 20 years he has worked closely with mayors from all over Europe, first between 2000 and 2004 in the International & European Affairs unit of the Mayor of London, and from 2004 in his current position. He has a Masters in European Politics from the University of London's Birkbeck College, and a Masters in Journalism from the University of Aix-Marseille. He writes and narrates the Letter from Brussels podcast, which is available on most major podcast platforms.